designing our team/business

The chance to design our own product, manufacture, market and sell it with the hopes of turning a profit in 6 months is the whole reason I enrolled in the MACE course. Before we even started designing a product, however, we had to form our teams and kick off the brainstorming process.

To be honest, until I was approached by Kaitlin and Jonas, I hadn’t really thought about who I wanted to work with – I had just been getting to know everyone on the course and figured the teams would sort themselves out. That said, when Katie and Jo did reach out to me, it immediately felt like a good decision to work with them and when Vania and Britt joined in, the completed team all bonded instantly (we also haven’t killed each other yet so high fives all around!).

This team creation process was an important one and I personally learned a lot from it. While it is important that all team members get along, come from different backgrounds, and have similar goals for the company (as we all do), it is equally important that these members are able to have a dynamic conversation – they need to be able to poke holes in each others ideas and sometimes just say “that doesn’t really sound like it would work.” It is through this back and forth that good ideas can be generated, and crucially, analysed and developed into great outcomes.

Leave a comment